top of page

Sea Change


I see things,

Things just beneath the surface,

Stuff the naked eye averts its gaze from.

I see civil rights abuses,

Protest and anger will be our future.

Like a scene playing out,

In 1963 Alabama.

I see things,

I see things reaching boiling point,

Like our morning coffee, as we look after ourselves.

I see division and oppression,

From those meant to protect us.

Corruption and back handers,

But I don’t feel I should pay.

I see things,

I see tension rising in our societies,

Like a match winning pen in the 90th minute.

I see crisis in healthcare,

The professionals’ frustration.

I see people are suffering,

All down to funding.

I see things,

I see that it can’t go on like this,

Like when you’re at school and stand up to the bully.

I see open plan offices,

Pound signs for eyes in city gents passing by.

I see corporate clones,

Like a scene from 84.

I see things,

That things are dividing,

Like the English Revolutions, from 1642 to 51.

I see oblivious behaviour,

And a shortage of homes.

People one pay cheque,

From a life on the streets.

I see things,

Things need to change,

Like an addict whose clean and learning to breathe.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page